Tweed Talk

One of my favourite fashion features of AW has always been the endless supply of textures to play with- from cable knit sweaters to window pane print wool blazers, the possibilities are endless! Perhaps the most versatile fabric available is the elusive tweed texture. Be it in a pleat front pant or a slim fit waistcoat, tweed acts as a timeless addition to any wardrobe, with the high street offering numerous nods to the traditional heritage aesthetic with which tweed has become synonymous.

IMG_2900.JPG

Yesterday I had a hectic day of appointments and press events, and wanted a fashionably functional look. Thus, I opted for the comfort and class of this AW’13 Ted Baker tweed. It was a gift from my fabulous sister Vanessa last year, and immediately became one of my most treasured wardrobe possessions! It dresses up any outfit in a heartbeat, and came with a fabulous fish hook feathered lapel pin that is just sublime.

IMG_2902.JPG

IMG_2897.JPG

Given the formality of the blazer, I opted for a dark wash Topman denim to add a casual flair, and teamed the look with some fabulous River Island brogues to really play up that heritage feel.

My H&M pyjama print shirt screams vintage gentry, while this Penneys woven bowtie in rich burgundy complements the velvet lapel trim on the blazer quite handsomely. I actually cheated today’s ‘pocket square’ by simply inverting the lining of the blazer’s breast pocket- a quick DIY dapper trick when you’re in a hurry!

IMG_2905.JPG

IMG_2898.JPG

Finally, I finished my ensemble by matching my mustard satchel to my socks- that extra attention to detail always pays off!

Leave a Reply

