Double-Breasted Best!

I’ve always loved a shoulder pad. Perhaps it’s my inner Sharon Watts trying to escape, or maybe I simply love the nostalgic tack that they offer, but I’ve never been one to shy away from accentuating the upper arms! Of course, while I usually favour the modern male aesthetic of slim line tailored jackets, there’s something so deliciously decadent about a double breasted blazer.

While it may appear bulkier than its slim fit counterpart, a double breasted blazer can actually offer a lot of free reign when it comes to the overall silhouette of a look. When teamed with fitted suit pants or super skinny jeans, such a piece can be surprisingly flattering on its wearer, offering a fun and fresh take on token tailored trends.

IMG_3558.JPG

This particular blazer was a steal from my local Oxfam at just €10 a few years ago. It’s the perfect piece for AW, with its eccentric houndstooth print and lightweight feel providing a fun alternative to the usual transitional cover ups. For this look, I decided to team it with another classic seasonal staple- the turtleneck. This fine knit number from Benetton is ideal for our changeable weather, given its cotton modal blend.

IMG_3565.JPG

As is often the case with vintage pieces, the arms are actually too short on the blazer, but I refuse to let that stop me channeling some 80’s news reporter chic! By simply bunching up the sleeves, I’ve added an element of nonchalance to the look, which is a refreshing juxtaposition to the formality of my statement jacket.

Finally, I incorporated a warm autumnal aesthetic with the addition of these burgundy skinny jeans and tan brogues, and completed the look with this vintage lapel pin and burgundy pocket square. I kept a subtle tone with my accessories- I let my houndstooth do the talking!

IMG_3561.JPG

IMG_3555.PNG

I wore this look for a cheeky trip to Avoca in Malahide- I couldn’t help but take advantage of this Autumnal photo op!

IMG_3535.JPG

Leave a Reply

