Purple Pleather

Recently, I’ve come to realise that I have acquired quite the obsession with pleather. Now, while some may automatically picture some rather questionable purchases from the local sex shop, I must emphasise that I am actually referencing the faux fabric in a purely fashionable context, of course. While men have slowly but surely embraced the skinny jean in all its leg enhancing glory, lately I’ve found myself looking for alternatives to the current denim du jour, which (with a little help from the high street) has come to fruition in the form of the rather fabulous pleather pant.

Zara et al have a vast range of leggy leather lovelies on offer this season, offering customers a variety of zips, buckles and textures to tantalise every sartorial tastebud, but I have found H&M to be the home of the most perfectly indulgent pair of pleather pants- so much so that even GQ magazine approves! These waxy finish skinny fit trews are the perfect addition to any winter wardrobe, and offer a plethora of possibilities- try teaming them with an oversized chunky knit, or with your favourite charcoal classic winter coat. Furthermore, their €39.95 price tag will ease any financial reservations you may have about jumping on board this trend, while their ribbed edging add some biker bulk to the garment.

IMG_4182.JPG

IMG_4192.JPG

I chose some dapper components to complete my first outing of the pants, and opted for an opulent purple to add some decadence to the look. This purple River Island blazer is part of a suit from a few seasons ago, and its leather lapel ties in quite nicely with my statement skinnies.

IMG_4202.JPG

IMG_4186.JPG

Given the harshness of certain elements in my ensemble, I decided to have some fun by adding this River Island polka dot shirt, teamed with a sleek black bow tie and fabulous feather lapel pin. Finally, my trusty studded Aldo monk straps (with co-ordinating socks!) completed my purple pleather look to perfection, leaving me camera ready for this week’s ‘Style Trial’!

IMG_4196.JPG

IMG_4332.PNG

So guys, will you be jumping on the biker bandwagon?!

IMG_4209.JPG

IMG_4198.JPG

Leave a Reply

