Monochrome Musings

Monochrome has long been a favourite wardrobe feature of mine- it’s iconic, trans-seasonal, and effortlessly chic. Furthermore, these purse pinching times coupled with the fact that trends can come and go at the click of every fashion editor’s well manicured fingers, mean that it’s rather comforting (and cost effective) to know that this sartorial staple will be eternally en vogue. While monochrome immediately sparks silhouettes of tailored suits and classic cut winter coats, today I honoured the trend with this fabulous tortoise print tee from Primark- a steal at just €5!

IMG_4904.JPG

The piece instantly caught my eye with its sleek and simple outline, and I knew that it deserved far more than a simple t-shirt and jeans combo for its initial outing. To dress up the top, I decided to take elements of monochrome and amp up the kitsch factor- one must always inject some fun into black and white!

I styled the tee over this River Island polka dot shirt, with the collar adding formality to the look. This biker, also from River Island, was the perfect jacket to lend a casual juxtaposition to my rather regimented button up.

IMG_4950.JPG

IMG_4949.JPG

These acid wash Topman jeans are a personal favourite of mine, with their super slim silhouette contrasting the bulkiness of my biker to perfection- I enjoying having fun with volume! Subsequently, the brogues (from my local Vincent de Paul shop) are fabulously flashy, and offer an unexpected twist to the grunge factor of the denims.

IMG_4952.JPG

IMG_4948.JPG

Finally, I carried my monochrome musings right through to my accessories with the addition of these cheeky zebra print socks, and this fabulous lapel pin from harrisonblakeapparel.com- who says that these floral fancies have to be reserved solely for blazers?!

IMG_4951.JPG

I wore this fun, carefree look for a chicy day out with the gals. First off,I attended a fabulous craft fair featuring some designs from my friend’s mum Triona- aren’t her pebble art pictures divine?!

IMG_4926.JPG

IMG_4924.JPG

After a coffee and a catch up with my friend Niamh, my sister Vanessa and I took Mum for yet another coffee (did I mention I liked coffee?) and a browse around our local garden centre. It may be a little early for some, but I have to share some of the divine Christmas decorations that were on display- I need them all!

IMG_4940.JPG

IMG_4936-0.JPG

IMG_4937-0.JPG

I hope you all had a fabulous weekend, and are well rested for the fashion forward week ahead!

Stay sassy guys and gals,

James

X

Leave a Reply

