Cruella Couture

Happy Hallowe’en guys and gals! I hope everyone is having a fabulously wretched weekend- well, my inspiration for this year’s costume certainly is quite wretched! I’ve always favoured bold, iconic figures when it comes to dressing up, and no one has such ferociously fashionable credibility as the one and only Cruella De Ville. Or, in my case- CruFella!

When it comes to costume construction, I’ve never been one to go to the local joke shop and splash out €60 on a piece of tacky plastic – I find store bought costumes to be quite the cop out (and waste of money!). Were we all to open our eyes, we’d see that we can create a whole host of ghoulishly glamorous guises using pieces that already exist in our wardrobes- it just takes a little imagination!

IMG_5798.JPG

Given that Cruella has quite the lustrous closet, I decided to create my own take on her iconic aesthetic, using the colour palette of monochrome with a dash of red as my focal point. The basic uniform of a black waistcoat and leather pants (recycled from last Hallowe’en!) allowed me to inject some colour and print to the rest of my concoction, beginning with this fabulous white fur stole- a steal from my local Oxfam a few years back!

IMG_5687.JPG

A simple cravat added a burst of blood red to the top of my look, finished off with this fabulous brooch- €5 from Dunnes Stores! I sassed up these red satin gloves (not the best when navigating a touch screen phone!) from George’s Street Arcade in Dublin with 2 black feather boas (€1.50 each) from the €2 store, and added a statement ring for just €1- the €2 store is quite the treasure trove!

IMG_5688.PNG

IMG_5772.PNG

Now it was time for that much needed dash of Dalmation. I’ve used fabric glue on costumes before, so I didn’t hesitate to crack it out again for some splendid sleeves! This white shirt was the perfect texture, and looked fabulous when covered in these black rounded shapes – cut from a €1 polyester tablecloth. Because the black material was rather fine, the glue did show through on some of the spots, but I just went over said areas with a black marker. Not too shabby, eh?

IMG_5800.JPG

I had initially intended on wearing black patent leather boots, but decided that the lower half of my look was lacking in some red. So, I added a dash of Cruella’s favourite colour with my socks, and continued the monochrome theme by jazzing up these basic black dress brogues with white fringe tips. Cruella would NEVER be seen in a dodgy shoe, after all.

IMG_5773.PNG

Pearl Primark necklaces worn as belts added some chicy Chanel vibes to the ensemble, while no Cruella creation would be complete without her trademark cigarette holder! For hair and make up, I used some €3 white hair spray on my quiff, leaving the other side of my parting dark, while a simple smoky eye and a contoured cheek left me looking feline fabulous!

IMG_5717.JPG

So, what do you guys and gals think? Did I do Cruella proud?! Here are some pictures from the fabulous party that my sister (a DIY Circus Ringmaster!) and I attended- everyone really put in the effort!

Stay sassy,

James

X

IMG_5747.JPG

IMG_5742.JPG

IMG_5770.JPG

2 thoughts on “Cruella Couture

Leave a Reply

