Face Fabulous

While I’ve thus far used JusdeJames to talk about my own personal style and the fabulously transformative prowess of fashion, I’ve often had a hankering to branch out into another area in which I have a lot of interest- skincare.

During college I worked in a pharmacy part time, and picked up a wealth of knowledge from all the hours I spent listening to the warts and woes of customers- you’d be surprised the dermatological challenges that some people face on a daily basis! With this in mind, I feel its only fair that I divulge some of my own skincare tips and tricks that I’ve acquired over the years.

In this post, I’m going to focus on one of the few things that sets us apart from everyone else ladies and gentlemen- our fabulous faces; and, in particular, face wash. As someone who has struggled with finding the right face wash over the years, I was beyond delighted to uncover a little known gem in a recent package that was sent to me by a health company- Dr. Bronner’s Pure Castille Soap.

IMG_8678.JPG

Firstly, let me tell you a little something about all those face washes that claim to be suitable for ‘sensitive skin’- half of them are liars. I should know, I’ve used them all. You could even go as far as to say that I am in fact a little bit of a skincare slut- I’ve done the rounds, had everything sprayed on my face, and I still haven’t found the one.

See, I have to contend with the rather unfortunate fact that I’m allergic to fragrance. Not just a little bit, a lot – I’ve even endured the patch testing to prove it. Of course, while I still douse myself with half a bottle of Viktor and Rolf every morning (hair and wrists seem to have escaped the itch, touch wood), the same can’t be said for my tolerance to face wash. Fragrance, you see, is in EVERYTHING. Seriously, everything. I can’t even use Sudocrem. However, I seem to have found quite the saviour in Dr. Bronner’s.

With 18 uses in 1 (including body wash, teeth cleaning, dog washing and dish washing), The Pure Castille Wash is already a cult skincare classic along with the jam packed Dr Bronner’s range, and it now has me hooked too. Just three drops into the hand and then rubbed into a wet face and your entire face feels revived, refreshed and absolutely flawless. Within 3 days of using it, people commented on my complexion on a daily basis, and were astounded at the minimal effort involved in my skincare ‘régime’.

With a variety of oil options available in the product, including almond and tea tree, you can find which one suits your skin needs better. For example, the original unscented version boasts added olive oil for super sensitive skin. I’m currently in love with the peppermint oil version- it’s perfect for waking me up in the shower first thing in the morning!

IMG_8677.PNG

At only €8.75 RRP for 237ml, the value alone is outstanding- I’ve used mine religiously for almost 2 months now and I’m still only halfway through the bottle! Furthermore, the packaging is simply sublime- the label is covered in fun facts, skincare tips, product information, and even some quotes from Shakespeare- it’s always fabulous to have something to read in the shower!

The above skincare selfie was taken just last week, sans any filter- the slight bumps on my forehead have almost completely disappeared, the oiliness in my T Zone has diminished, and blackheads have reduced to essentially nothing. Guys and gals, this truly is a miracle product. Get to your nearest health store today!

Stay sassy,

James

X

2 thoughts on “Face Fabulous

Leave a Reply

