Christmas Wrapping!

Ah, Christmas wrapping. That annual ribbon filled ritual of taping fingers together, underestimating parcel sizes and wanting to strangle whoever invented gifts that were in the shape of anything that isn’t a perfect square- I love it! Of course, while some just whack that last minute fragrance set into a gift bag and hope for the best, I for one can become a LITTLE bit obsessive when it comes to perfecting my parcels. Thus, I thought I’d take the focus away from fashion for this post, but still keep things stylish with some of my sassy tips and tricks for Christmas Wrapping.

IMG_9022.PNG

Firstly, let’s talk paper. I usually opt for patterns that I know are trans seasonal- how often have you bought a fabulously festive roll only to use a metre of it and have the rest shrivel away in the attic?! Tesco have some fabulous options this year, including this divine feather print paper. Its jewel tones and glitter finish are ideal for ornate festive glamour, while its non Christmas print make it perfectly suitable for birthdays and other occasions throughout the year.

IMG_9026.PNG

For this parcel, I chose a complimentary ribbon, bow and gift tag combo. Tiger sell reams of this ribbon for €1, and its glitzy shimmer adds a flawless finish to any gift!

Of course, ribbon can often be slightly repetitive, which is why I sometimes create name ‘plaques’ as the focal point of a package, instead of a frilly bow. To create this personalised touch, I simply cut a rectangular shape from a gift card and glued it to the centre of this gift for my glamourous mum. To create the illusion of a plaque, I added four gems to each corner- the ‘bolts’, if you will! Finally, I used a card cutter to cut three little flowers from black paper, lettered them with gold pen, and stuck them to the card. Et voila!

IMG_8996.JPG

This paper is particularly fabulous, and is also from tesco. With patterned paper such as this, it can often be difficult to gage the straightness of the print when wrapping it, and it can end up looking rather wonky when you’ve finished. Luckily, many rolls of paper now have a grid print on the reverse side, meaning you can accurately cut and measure your parcel as you wrap.

IMG_9025.JPG

I also enjoy having fun with texture in my wrapping. Raffia and twine are fabulous alternatives to ribbon, while little appliqués such as these wooden stars can make an otherwise ‘glam’ parcel seem a little more homely. I simply stuck this star onto this Art Deco inspired look using double sided tape, and attached a letter to the centre. Quite chicy if I do say so myself!

IMG_8979.JPG

For bulkier items, I often favour a strong print in paper, and wrap the gift at a diagonal angle, thus blurring the original shape of the pattern, and taking away from the lack of symmetry in the completed package. This tartan paper from Marks and Spencer, looks divine, even for an otherwise awkward shape. Red ribbon and a wooden star, both from Tiger, complete the traditional finish.

IMG_9007.JPG

Of course, wrapping doesn’t have to be an entirely ‘girly’ affair, as this next present for my Dad proves. This harlequin print paper from Tiger offers a perfectly masculine monochrome look, with one of my fail safe ‘plaques’ adding a subtle hint of glitz.

IMG_8986.JPG

Remember, when accessorising, I recommend choosing ribbons and appliqués in complimentary colours to your paper- if we can colour co-ordinate our wardrobes, why not our wrapping?!

IMG_8974.JPG

IMG_9002.JPG

IMG_8973.JPG

I do hope you guys and gals enjoyed this little peek at my wrapping. I’ve always been a fan of the process at any time of year, but there really is something rather special about it at Christmas. What are your favourite wrapping ways? Be sure to let me know!

Stay sassy,

James

X

2 thoughts on “Christmas Wrapping!

Leave a Reply

