YSL (for cheap as hell!)

Let me ask you this my fabulous followers- who doesn’t love a good bargain? We’re all guilty of scouring those sale rails at the end of every season, and there’s nothing more thrilling than getting that last minute steal at 70% off (even if you never really wanted it to begin with!). But, I’ve always been of the opinion that the crème de la crème of thrift is to be found in that fabulous little treasure trove known as the local charity shop.

As someone who worked in their local Oxfam Ireland store for seven years, I’ve always had a soft spot for charity shops- they’re chic, welcoming and are a great spot to catch up on some gossip! Also, contrary to the narrow-minded stigmas employed by some naysayers, the items on sale are far from ‘rubbish’- only good, clean items make it onto the shop floor, with all other donations being recycled. So folks, one’s ‘trash’ may well be your next treasure!

IMG_3834.JPG

Such was certainly the case for me following a recent trip by my fabulous mother to our local Saint Vincent de Paul shop. The branch hosts regular ‘designer days’, where donations of exceptional quality will be on sale for a slightly higher price than usual, given their original label, cost and ‘fashion’ worth. My Mum hit the sartorial jackpot on this occasion, picking me up a pair of Ted Baker oxblood brogues for €20, and a vintage YSL bomber, also for €20. Bargain!

IMG_3833.JPG

I was beyond excited to style the two pieces into a chicy ensemble, and for today’s look, I opted to go for a preppy spin on a classic Mod look. The clunkiness of these divine brogues is effortlessly on trend, and I simply adore the rich leather finish. A corresponding burgundy turtle neck prevented me from looking like an extra from ‘This is England’, and offered formality to my new favourite jacket- YSL at a Primark price? Yes please!

IMG_3835.JPG

So guys and gals, what do you think of my bargain buys? I’m beyond thrilled with them, and can’t wait to style them again and again! I do hope that this post inspires people to start regularly hitting up their local charity shops- the work that their volunteers do is simply fabulous, and I know that every donation and purchase really does count. So come on folks, get thrifting!

Stay sassy,

James

X

IMG_3832.JPG

One thought on “YSL (for cheap as hell!)

Leave a Reply

