Summer School

Hey guys and gals! So, the summer is officially here in Ireland – it’s raining. Of course! But, fear not fashion friends. I always try to see the bright side of things, and with this outfit post I’m doing just that. Rather than mourn the loss of tropical tees and white jeans, I’ve decided to embrace my inner school boy for a trans-seasonal look that will keep that damp chill at bay (while still packing some summer sass).

IMG_2687.JPG I’ve long been a fan of ‘short suits’ for men – they’re the perfect accompaniment to a simple striped tee when dashing around the city, and can look refreshingly chic for more formal events (dress code permitting!). For this look, I decided to mix and match some current season pieces with pre-existing items from my wardrobe to create a carefree approach to summer tailoring.

IMG_2699.JPG This River Island blazer has become a go-to jacket for me in recent months, with its slightly mint/grey hue lending itself to a number of fashion palettes. It blends seamlessly with this lavender tank from Benetton, and picks up the colour of my mint Penneys tie (€3) perfectly. These navy shorts, also from Penneys, were an absolute steal (you may remember them from a previous post!) at €3- their classic colour adds a necessary subtlety to my otherwise exuberant ensemble.

IMG_2704.JPG Classic golf-chic was attained by my favourite summer shoe from Zara (with the addition of some fun fringe tips), with their contrast blue sole being complimented by some pop blue socks. I took a risk with my choice of bag for the look- this River Island tote (€40) is actually from the ladies’ section, and may be considered too small to count as a typical man’s satchel, but, I couldn’t resist the dusky grey hue and subtle gold details, and simply had to add it to my school-boy attire. After all, I’m the one wearing it – if I like it, I’m gonna work it!

IMG_2701.JPG A purple lapel pin from Harrison Blake Apparel lifted my look, while my ‘pocket square’ was achieved by simply pulling up the lining of my blazer’s pocket- the quickest of fixes! I adore the button down collar on this Penneys shirt (just as much as I adore it’s €7 price tag).

IMG_2694.JPG So, what do you think of my weather-wary look? Let me know! Stay sassy, James X

One thought on “Summer School

Leave a Reply

