Duvet Daze

Today something rather unusual happened – it finally felt like autumn. I know, I know, technically it is autumn, and has been for quite a while, but given our rather changeable weather in Ireland, half the time September and October feel like the perfect time to slip into a bikini and sip on a cocktail or seven (well, ya know what I mean). However today, I truly felt a chill, which prompted me to finally crack out my latest love – this Christopher Shannon for River Island puffer jacket.

IMG_9515.JPG

Now, I normally would have always found myself to be somewhat averse to the very notion of a puffer jacket – I much prefer the slimming prowess of a classic peacoat or biker – but can honestly say that I have now been successfully converted. Of course, this isn’t very difficult when you consider the sheer fabulosity of such a statement winter staple as this. With tartan panels and borgi detail, this Christopher Shannon piece is one of the key items from the designer’s River Island collaboration, and at €160 for a full down and feather winter warmer (that takes the term duvet day to serious sartorial heights), it not only looks divine, but feels sensational in the process.

IMG_9512.JPG

To offset the voluminous tendencies of the coat, I simply teamed it with some super skinny jeans, clunky lace-ups and a plain black sweater – adding a pop of mustard with my trusty satchel. The coat itself is of course an absolute scene-stealer, and I found myself being the focal point of many a passer-by on Dublin’s Grafton Street – sure hey, if people are looking, you must be doing something right!

IMG_9510.JPG

So folks, what do you make of my latest look? It may not be to everyone’s taste, but I can honestly say that if you fancy having a duvet day on the go – while looking cheekily chic in the process – this, my fashion friends, is the coat for you. Get shopping!

IMG_9522.JPG

Stay sassy,

James

X

Leave a Reply

